Access Groups

Access Groups

This interface governs which groups will appear on the list of access groups on the individual user profile pages. The Portal Administrator can create, edit, and delete Access Groups in this interface. The purpose of Access Groups is to manage permissions to uploaded documents at the level of every document and every user.  The Access Group page is used to create and update Access Groups for documents. Once Access Groups are created, users can be assigned to them.

Creating an Access Group

To create an Access Group, go to the Admin UI >> more >> Access Groups and click on the New Access Group button at the top of the Access Groups page. This will open the Access Group Details page.

This page contains the following fields:

  • Name*: - name of the new access group; required field.
  • Description: – description of the new access group; optional field;
  • Modification Date: – non-editable field; it is empty at this stage.

Fill in the required (*) fields and click Save to create access group, or Cancel – to leave the form without changes.


Assigning Access Groups to Single User

To assign access groups to a specific user, go to Admin UI >> Users and click the Edit link next to the name of the user you want to assign a group to.

This will open the User Details page. Under Access Groups select the groups you wish to assign to that user. Then select Save.

 

Assigning Access Groups to Multiple Users

To assign access groups to multiple users, go to Admin UI >> Access Groups and the Edit link next to the name of the Access Group you want to assign users to.

This will open the Access Group Details page. Under the User Access section, click the Clear Filter button, which will then list all portal users. Click the checkbox next to the names of all users you wish to add to this Access Group. Then click Add Selected.

 

Assigning Documents to Access Groups

You can also assign saved documents to specific Access Groups. To assign documents go to Admin UI >> Submit Content.

 

Editing Access Groups

To edit an Access Group, go to the Admin UI >> more >> Access Groups and click on the Edit link next to the desired entry in the Access Groups table.

This will open the Access Group Details page designed for editing the selected access group. Modification Date field will show date and time of the last changes made to this access group.

 

Make the desired changes in the form and click Save to apply changes, or Cancel – to leave the form without changes

Deleting Access Groups

To delete an access group, go to the Access Groups table, select the desired entry, and click on the Delete link next to it. This will open a dialog with the prompt: "Are you sure you want to delete this access group?" Click OK to confirm operation or Cancel to decline it.